Saturday, April 04, 2015

Review: Killer Instinct by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Killer Instinct by Jennifer Lynn Barnes
Killer Instinct, the second book in The Naturals series by Jennifer Lynn Barnes, picks up a couple months after the events at the end of The Naturals. Cassie, our leading Natural, is still living at the house with the rest of our cast of misfits, as they fight for a more active role in investigations. Just when they are finally finding a good rhythm, Agent Sterling shows up, vowing to put an end to their involvement altogether. Cassie is convinced her and Briggs have a past, and maybe even her and Dean as well.

And if a new agents mucking up the dynamic wasn't enough, a new killer leaves a trail of bodies that hit too close to home for Dean. Is it possible his father has a copy cat murderer out there, trying to relive his father's kills? Cassie will stop at nothing to put an end to the killing spree, and help Dean finally find some peace of mind. But of course, nothing ever goes as planned. 

I was absolutely blown away by the first book in this series, and the second books lives up to that excitement and mystery perfectly. It's also interesting to see the idea that just because you don't fit into society's idea of normal, it doesn't mean your life can't be full of love and success. 

The Good
It's impossible not to root for Cassie's team. They are all so broken, yet so strong and trying to carve a life out for themselves. Their chemistry is amazing, and each character really does help build off of the other. There is never a dull moment and the storyline will always keep you guessing. Also, there is lots of Dean in this book, and since Dean is amazing, this is a huge plus. Sorry, Michael! You're awesome, too. But you're no Dean. 

The Bad
Not often, but every once in a while some of the conclusions the Naturals make seem a little contrived. Other than that, there is nothing inherently bad about this book. 

Overall, this book is an amazing ride, full of mystery and adventure and some romance. Absolutely perfect for fans of Criminal Minds or other, similar crime shows! The third book in the series, All In, is set for release November 3 of this year. 

No comments :

Post a Comment